“Grave to Shudder” by Ike Ndolo

I was introduced a week or two ago to Ike Ndolo.  I still have no idea how to pronounce his name, either the first or the last one, but he sure has some great music.  The lyrics on “Grave to Shudder” are phenomenal!

Anyhow, it seems there are yet some things that Google does not know, and one of those things is the chords to this particular song.  But thanks to chordify.net and a bit of tweaking on my part, that will soon be changed; at the moment I publish this blog, the world wide web will no longer be ignorant.  Bwah ha ha ha!!!

Without further ado, below are the chords (as far as I and Chordify can tell, that is) for Ike Ndolo’s song “Grave to Shudder.”  Enjoy it.  Play it.  And go buy his CD.  The CD recording is much better than any of the free versions you can find on YouTube, and a worship leader like this deserves to have his work supported.  So buy his music!

Grave to Shudder
by Ike Ndolo

(Note the original is in the key of F#.  I did mine in the key of G to make the chords easier, but you can transpose it to whatever key fits you.  Also, note that none of the chords line up to the words because WordPress doesn’t keep spaces correctly…)

VERSE 1:
Em C – G
I was born under lock and key
Em C – G
My slavery was like a friend to me
Em C – G
It’s all I knew like the pressing night
Em C – G
Until you came and gave me back my sight

VERSE 2:
(- D) Em C – G
This beating heart was growing fainter still
Em C – G
Dry from the world and its empty wells
Em C – G
I tried to rise but I could not die
Em C – G
You showed me how and put to death my pride

CHORUS:
C G
He has made the grave to shudder
Em D
And all of hell to turn and run
C G –
He has looked on me a pauper
Em D D
And called me son
C G
With a glance he melts the mountains
Em D
That are building in my heart
C G –
He has given me a new life
Em D D
To shine as the stars

VERSE 3:
(- D) Em C – G
You count my hairs like you count the stars
Em C – G
Gave me a name and wrote it on your heart
Em C – G
What reckless love to give your life away
Em C – G
Snatched from the pit, o my soul today

CHORUS

BRIDGE:
G
On the edge of night
Bm Em – D
Beyond the wall of sound
Am Em – C
I’ll stay close to you, my God
Bm Em – D
Lead me to higher ground
C Em
Upward and onward still!
C (G) D
To a land bold and bright!
C Em
My love, you have come to save!
C (G) D
And turn all my wrongs to right!

C Em C G D
Oh!

CHORUS

VERSE 4
Em C – G
I was born under lock and key
Em C – G
My slavery was like a friend to me
Em C – G
It’s all I knew like the pressing night
Em C – G
Until you came and gave me back my life

Leave a comment