If I Glorify Him, He Glorifies Me

1 Samuel 2:30 – “Those who honor Me I will honor, and those who despise Me will be lightly esteemed.”

We could translate this as “If you glorify me, I’ll glorify you; but if you pay no heed to me, I’ll treat you as worthless.”

Though the warning is strong, the promise is beyond description.

Oh, the glory of this promise!  If I glorify him, if I make him known, if I recognize his hand on my life, if I honor his right to rule me, if I give him glory… then he honors me, glorifies me, thinks much of me!  To think that our God far above who dwells in unapproachable light would choose to honor fallen, forgiven, redeemed, weak man!  Oh, to think that our majestic God of glories far beyond what eye can see and mind can comprehend would stoop low to glorify and honor me.  ME!  Why me?  Why?

He is worthy of all glory and honor, and yet he chooses to honor me.  It leaves me speechless.

Revelation 5:13 – “And every created thing which is in heaven and on the earth and under the earth and on the sea, and all things in them, I heard saying, ‘To Him who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb, be blessing and honor and glory and dominion forever and ever.'”

Who are you, Jesus, that you would take the glory that is rightfully yours and honor me with it?  I am humbled before your kindness.

Leave a Reply

