Prophecy Night at Campus Life

“For you can all prophesy one by one, so that all may learn and all may be exhorted” (1 Corinthians 14:31).

We had such a fun time last night at the Prophecy Night at Campus Life.  A total of 19 people piled into my little living room, some of them new believers hungry for God, others skeptics there primarily to be with friends, and still others were seasoned believers walking with the Spirit of God.  We laughed, we cried; it was awesome!

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me” (John 10:27).

I love that Jesus knows how to speak to us even today.  I love that he is the LIVING WORD, and that he knows just the words to say to encourage and strengthen us to pursue him faithfully.

2 responses to “Prophecy Night at Campus Life

  1. You may want to read this sometime:

    “My Sheep Hear My Voice”
    http://www.hallvworthington.com/voicemain.html

  2. I haven’t had a chance to read the whole thing yet, but what I read looked pretty good. We definitely need both the written and the spoken Word of God. One friend of mine says something I think is really insightful: “With just the written Word, we dry up. With just the spoken Word, we blow up. With both the written and the spoken Word, we grow up.” The written Word grounds us in truth and stability but it can easily get stuck in our heads as a merely intellectual pursuit that feeds our pride; the spoken Word brings life and a dynamic relationship with Jesus but we, being human, don’t often practice the best discernment and are easily led astray. To truly grow and mature as a healthy Christian, we need a commitment to both.

Leave a Reply

