Tonight, Campus Life will be performing at RVHS

So I was all set for the Campus Life meeting tonight.  I had an awesome plan.  Seriously, the gospel was going to be shared, lives were going to be changed, teenagers were going to be loved…  I spent the day preparing, and it was gonna be amazing, truly amazing.

But then I remembered there was a band and choir concert tonight.  All but two students in this year’s Campus Life crew are in either band or choir.  And one of those two students was planning to go to the concert.

So much for my plan, right?

I used to get upset when things like this came up, but I’m learning to go with the flow, love the complexities, and even enjoy some of these traits to small-town ministry.

So tonight I headed to the concert to enjoy some great music brought to you by the River Valley High School band and choir.  And it was awesome.  The music was definitely good.  (Their performance of “Foundry” by John Mackey was phenomenal, if you ask me.  And the choir did an amazing job at everything, but I especially loved the passion in “Lacrimosa” from Mozart’s Requiem.)

But really I just love watching my kids use the talents God gave them.  I feel so proud of all of them every time I get to watch them perform out there.  (Man, I’m gonna miss these guys.)

So, I didn’t get to do what I had planned, and we really didn’t have “youth group” at all tonight, but I still got to love and enjoy my kids and show my support for them.

So, way to go, Campus Life!  You guys rocked… in a classical music sort of way.

Leave a Reply

