All He Says I Am – Cody Carnes

I’m sitting here at our Prayer Weekend, and the CD has been stuck on one song for the last hour.  I just can’t get enough of “All He Says I Am” by Cody Carnes lately. I love the simplicity of the song’s declaration:  I am all he says I am.

When we let Jesus’ words sink into our hearts, they change us.  His words made air enter and blood run through a pile of dirt in the shape of a man (Genesis 2:7).  His words silenced the raging storm and stilled the seas (Mark 4:35-41).  His word is a fire and a hammer (Jeremiah 23:29), a light and a lamp (Psalm 119:105), a living and active, sharp sword (Hebrews 4:12).  His word is effective and powerful (Isaiah 55:10-11).  Jesus himself is the very word of God (John 1:14).  This is not simply theology, nice thoughts or ideas about God, but this is reality.  The words of God spoken over me, entering into my heart, actually transform a sinner into a saint, a coward into a courageous warrior, and make a dead man alive again.

Here are the lyrics and chords for this song.  It’s super simple, so have fun!

All He Says I Am
Cody Carnes

Capo 2-Key of A

[ Verse 1:]
Em G C-Csus-C
He whispers in my ear, tells me that I’m fearless
He shares a melody, tells me to repeat it
D C D C
And it makes me whole, it reminds my soul

[Chorus:]
G D C-Csus-C
I am all He says I am (repeat)
Em D Em G C-Csus-C
And He says I am His own

[Verse 2:]
I was blinded by scales upon my eyes,
And He came like a light and burned up all the lies
Oh He set me free, He reminded me

Chorus

[Bridge:]
G D C-Csus-C
Chains are broken, and scales are on the floor
Truth is spoken, I’m no orphan anymore
(repeat)

Em G C G
I am loved, I am new again
I am free, I’m no slave to sin
And I’m a saint, oh I am righteousness
Oh and I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive

Yeah I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive
I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive,
I’m alive, I’m alive, I’m alive
(end with Am)

Chorus

One response to “All He Says I Am – Cody Carnes

  1. Pingback: Cody Carnes Is No Longer Beating Romanian Prostitutes | Footsteps In The Deep

Leave a Reply

