Bible in the Park

To get a feel for Bucharest and the people here, I’ve taken to wandering the streets.  Today, I got an early start and headed out to Parcul Titan.  It’s a massive park in the middle of the city and gave me a great opportunity to spend some time in prayer and reading the Bible.  By American standards, Parcul Titan is dirty.  It’s not horribly dirty, but the idea of “Leave No Trace” doesn’t really ever seem to show up in Bucharest.  The park has a ton of cool toys for kids to play on, a massive lake, and a whole bunch of old guys in European style swimwear (click with caution).

But I went to Parcul Titan today not to people-watch or play on the fun toys but to spend some time with God.  Between all the travel, the hot weather, and living with my way-too-fun nieces, my last few times set aside with God haven’t been very, well, deep.  So I headed out today at 6:30 a.m. and hopped  on the subway heading to the park for some much-needed time simply loving Jesus.

What struck me this morning comes from Psalm 12:6 – “The words of the Lord are pure words; as silver tried in a furnace on the earth, refined seven times.”

In contrast to the words of men (which are at best inconsistent and at worst downright lies), God’s words are pure, precious, valuable like refined silver.  I want to treasure his words in my heart.  I want to view them as more precious and valuable than anything else in all the world.  I want to be like a wise man who stores up knowledge (Proverbs 10:14) or like a disciple of the kingdom who “is like a head of a household, who brings out of his treasure things new and old” (Matthew 13:52).

Lord, teach me to treasure your words, to treat them as valuable and precious.

One response to “Bible in the Park

  1. HEY! I resemble that old guy remark 😉

    I waited patiently for the Lord;
    he turned to me and heard my cry.
    2 He lifted me out of the slimy pit,
    out of the mud and mire;
    he set my feet on a rock
    and gave me a firm place to stand.
    3 He put a new song in my mouth,
    a hymn of praise to our God.
    Many will see and fear the Lord
    and put their trust in him.

Leave a Reply

