The Mundane

mun·dane [muhn-deyn, muhn-deyn]
adjective
1. of or pertaining to this world or earth as contrasted with heaven; worldly; earthly: mundane affairs.
2. common; ordinary; banal; unimaginative.
3. of or pertaining to the world, universe, or earth.

It’s the boring times of life, the ordinary times.  It’s the times they edit out of Hollywood movies.  It’s the times that never make it into a novel, a comic book, or even a journal.  It’s brushing your teeth when there’s an asteroid out there somewhere careening towards earth and all the world needs is a super-powered hero to rise up and rescue them.

I have a hard time with the mundane times.

I want to be active.  I want to be sharing the gospel.  I want to be healing the sick, freeing the oppressed, making a difference.  I want to be doing the works of Jesus and training others to do the same.

And yet so much of my life right now is full of the mundane.  It takes an hour just to pick up basic groceries, and I don’t understand the language enough to know what they tell me at the register, much less how to ask someone about Jesus.  And so I’m studying the language… while just outside the door are 1.5 million people who claim to follow Jesus yet have little love for him, do not attend any church, and are blind to the glory to which Jesus has called them.

But I thank God for the mundane that trains my hands for battle.

This morning, I read in 1 Samuel 17 about David and Goliath, and I saw an important fact about the boring times of our lives.  God uses the mundane to prepare us for the battles to come.

Saul sees David approaching, and he tells him, “You’re just a young man.  There’s no way you can win against Goliath.  What are you gonna do?  Make him laugh himself to death?”

David responds in 1 Samuel 17:34-36:  “Your servant was tending his father’s sheep.  When a lion or a bear came and took a lamb from the flock, I went out after him and attacked him, and rescued it from his mouth; and when he rose up against me, I seized him by his beard and struck him and killed him.  Your servant has killed both the lion and the bear; and this uncircumcised Philistine will be like one of them, since he has taunted the armies of the living God.”

All those boring, ordinary, mind-numbing days watching sheep, the annoyance of tracking down, hunting, killing a bear or lion… all of them amounted to the preparation David needed to take on a man more than 3 feet taller than himself, a man that was making every other Israelite shake in his armor.

Psalm 18:34 – “He trains my hands for battle so that my arms can bend a bow of bronze.”

Psalm 144:1 – “Blessed be the LORD, my Rock, who trains my hands for war and my fingers for battle.”

Lord, bring on the mundane!

Leave a Reply

