“Explode My Soul” by Jonathan and Melissa Helser

Jason, a Canadian missionary to Romania, introduced me to the music of Jonathan and Melissa Helser a couple weeks ago.  I have to say that at first it didn’t really grab me.  But now that I’ve downloaded and actually listened to “On the Shores” and “Long Story Short,” I’m overwhelmed.

The music is great, with an emphasis on acoustic instruments but enough electric guitar thrown in to make it interesting.  But best of all, they sing and play with passion.  Plus their lyrics are poetic, deep, and bring me into new conceptions of my walk with God, all of it drawing me into a deeper place of worship.  Trite rhymes and easy-to-remember lyrics these are not; the Helser couple throws in some awesome imagery, even some uncomfortable and yet biblical concepts, and covers it all over with poetry.  I love it!

Here are chords and lyrics for one of my favorites from “On the Shores.”  You can download all their chords here.

Explode My Soul
by Jonathan and Melissa Helser

(verse 1)
F#m                           D
Whisper my name so only I can hear
Call to my heart, chase away my fears
Stand up in this place, fight for the one you love
Won’t you come surround me, so I can rise above

(chorus)
F#m                                       D
Explode my soul, let these walls come down
All these prison thoughts crumble with the sound
Of my deliverance from my enemies
I stand up beside you, let’s watch these giants flee

(verse 2)
F#m                                    D
Let the silence be broken, and the winter be done
Will you come out of your hiding, kiss me sweet warm sun
Let the wind of your spirit blow the dust off my feet
I ran to you broken but now I am complete

(explosion)
D                                        A
Hello Promise Land, we’ve waited for so long
To see what we’ve believed in, to sing this Promise Land song
Explode my soul, explode with praise
What he promised is what he gave

D                                  A
I feel a wind in my lungs and hope in my veins!
I’m seeing with new eyes, I’m seeing you, yeah!
Hello Promise Land, I’ve waited for so long
To see what I’ve believed in, to sing this Promise Land song
Explode my soul, explode with praise
What he promised is what he gave

4 responses to ““Explode My Soul” by Jonathan and Melissa Helser

  1. It’s worth hearing Melissa’s presonal story (youtube it) to get a better understanding of this song ‘Hello Promised Land I’ve waited for so long’
    V powerful lyric and will resonate with so many people. I ‘m still in the waiting stage!
    Thanks for posting this and taking the time to put in the lyrics.
    I think she might have D tuned her guitar tho! (hate that as I can’t always tell lol

  2. I think you may be right about the D-tuning. That would explain her unusual position for the capo in the video, how it doesn’t cover all six strings.

  3. I just happened to come across this blog and the comment in particular. Would love to know the story behind the song but can`t find it anywhere. Any ideas what to look it up under on YouTube?

Leave a Reply

