Praying Paul’s Prayers

The other day as I began my prayer time, I felt directed towards Paul’s prayers in the Bible.  I have often found myself awestruck at the magnificence of his prayers, so it wasn’t like God had to twist my arm to get me to spend some time praying from them.  And I figure if God saw it good to record a man’s prayer in Scripture, it’s probably a prayer worth remembering.  🙂

Here are a couple pointers for praying Scripture effectively in a way where your heart connects with the living God:

1.  Take your time.  When I use Scripture as the basis for my prayers, I stop often.  Sometimes I stop after just about every word.  Sometimes I stop after a phrase.  Sometimes I go through the whole thing a couple times.  Don’t be in a hurry.  Enjoy it.  It’s God’s word, after all.

2.  Pray your own words.  As you pray, don’t just speak back exactly what you’re reading, but put everything in your own words.  The prayers and words of Scripture aren’t magic.  So let the words get into your heart, think about what they mean for you, and then pray them back to God.

And that’s it!

Here’s a link to a complete list of Paul’s prayers that I found online.

Leave a Reply

