He Became Sin

This morning, as I was praying, I had 2 Corinthians 5:21 come to my mind.  I spent the next hour and a half talking with God simply about that one verse alone.  It truly is an amazing and powerful scripture.

2 Corinthians 5:21 – “He made him who knew no sin to be sin on our behalf, so that we might become the righteousness of God in him.”

2 Corinteni 5:21 – “El, pentru noi, L-a făcut păcat pe Cel Ce n-a cunoscut păcatul, pentru ca, în El, să devenim dreptatea lui Dumnezeu.”

Jesus (who never ever committed any single sin, who was perfect in every way, who deserved to live in complete joy and peace in heaven, who is and always was worthy of the complete affections of the Father) chose gladly to become sin for me (and for you and for every other human being, for every one of us who has many times rebelled, many times been selfish, many times been greedy, many times been proud, many times rejected him, many times walked in sin) in order that we (the unworthy ones) could become the righteousness of God (not just do the right things, not just be nice people, not just obey more but become righteousness, and not just man’s righteousness but God’s very own righteousness).

The perfect one chose to clothe himself with the most dirty rags, chose to become known as the most impure of all.  And he did this for the one hope of then giving to us the prize that he earned and is worthy of, to clothe us with the robes of a king.

He became sin so I can become God’s righteousness.

He became sin so I can walk in victory.

He became sin so I can have forgiveness.

He became sin so I can have freedom from selfishness and greed.

He became sin so I can have courage.

He became sin so I can stand up for the weak and defenseless.

He became sin so I can feed the hungry, comfort the hurting, heal the sick.

He became sin so I can be the righteousness of God.

4 responses to “He Became Sin

  1. Reblogged this on godsfingers and commented:
    Jesus was God in man so that He could redeem man. Jesus was born into sin by a woman born in sin so that He could know our sin and redeem us from our sin. He died as man and rose victorious, in glory and soon comes back to claim us who are in Him. Praise God!

  2. Any time I start to get bored with God, all I have to do is remember the incarnation. It’s such an amazing mystery, how God dwelling in heaven would choose to take on flesh. It amazes me every time.

    • You’re absolutely right. When I look at myself and then look at that it amazes me. How many people would open one of those old, septic tank grease traps and clean it out barehanded, especially for their enemy? A little graphic, I know, but not even close to what He’s done for us.

Leave a Reply

