Back to the U.S.

It’s been just over a year since I first arrived in Romania.  I’ve been feeling the need for a while to take a trip back to the U.S. for some time to rest, visit family/friends, and share some stories with all the support team back home.

At first, the idea was super exciting.  The last few months in particular have been difficult here, with life in the city really starting to wear on me and homesickness setting in as well.  Not to mention the chest cold I picked up a month ago that hasn’t gone away.  (Oh, I just mentioned it.)  The thought of getting to visit home again was looking really good.

But then I started to realize Wisconsin isn’t really home anymore.  Yes, I have many family and friends there, people who love me, but it isn’t really home anymore.  I grew up in Green Bay, but I’ve only visited periodically since 1999 when I graduated from high school.  My family lives there, but everything’s changed, and I don’t really belong there anymore.  And though I spent about ten years ministering to students in Spring Green, that’s not really my home, either.  I’ve moved away, and others have taken over the work I used to do.

I’m starting to feel out of place already.

As I go about planning my schedule for my three weeks in Wisconsin, I keep reminding myself that God knows exactly how to take care of me.  Just like it took faith to move out here with nothing, so it takes faith to go back to Wisconsin.  And just like God guided every step of my move out here, so he’ll guide every step I take during my visit back to Wisconsin.

Matthew 6:31-33 – “Do not worry then, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear for clothing?’ For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

As you think of me, pray for a few things:

1.  Transportation – I sold my vehicles when I moved to Romania, and I’ve since been relying on buses, trams, subways, and trains to get everywhere.  Pray for God to provide a vehicle/vehicles for me to use while I’m back home.

2.  Money – It’s expensive to live and get around in Wisconsin.  Gas is gonna cost money, food is gonna cost money…  Besides that, I’m hoping to come away with some funds raised for the work here in Romania.  So pray for not only money to take care of my needs, but for money to bring back to Romania for our work here.

3.  Ministry – I’d love to meet with every single person who’s been praying for and giving towards our work here, but I won’t have time for that.  Instead, pray for God to maximize my time to be able to minister to those who need it.  Pray for my speaking appointments at various churches and for meetings with various supporters.  Pray for people to be strengthened and encouraged.

4.  Rest – It’s been a difficult and tiring year trying to start and maintain a ministry in Romania.  Pray for my time in America to bring some much-needed rest and rejuvenation, for spiritual and physical rest.  Pray for me to return to Romania with a stronger vision, a clearer sense of purpose, and (most importantly) a greater sense of the majesty and glory of Jesus.  I wanna come back ready to minister and excited to bring revival here.

6 responses to “Back to the U.S.

  1. Just prayed for all of your requests Ben! Keep your trust in God and stay content and thankful in every situation! You’re awesome, we’re looking forward to hearing from you in Milwuakee!!

  2. I know it’s weird to go “home” when it doesn’t feel like home. Thanks for being a blessing to your people in Romania and to the people supporting you.
    -Peter from The Bridge

  3. You got it Ben. I can appreciate your feelings. It’s starting to sink in that Sue and I are leaving families, church family into a totally new area for a new profession, new ministry, having to be even more dependent on God for our needs. But Portage wasn’t our home and we’ll be replaced. Ever so much a reminder, that in Christ, we are citizens of Heaven, and currently sojourners in a strange land.

    God bless and hope to catch you while you’re here.

    Dan

Leave a Reply

