Jon Thurlow – Strong Love

Recently, I’ve grown pretty well addicted to this song by Jon Thurlow.  It’s pretty simple lyrically and chord-wise, but it’s got such a happy sound to it that I totally love.  It’s a great reminder of the simple joy that’s ours simply because God chooses to love us regardless of how worthy (or unworthy) we may be.  🙂

For those interested, the chords are below, along with the strumming pattern I use.  (Sorry for the incorrect spacing on the chords; WordPress is not friendly when it comes to spacing things correctly.)

d d d du u ududu

C# – G#
I know the end of the story
F# – G#
I come up from the wilderness, leaning on my Beloved
C# – G#
Your love is so high, Your love is so wide
F# – G#
Your love is so deep, Your love is so long

C# –  F#-G# C# – F#-G# A#m – D#m-G# C# – F#-G#
Oh oh oh oh oh oh oh…

(G#) C# – F#-G#  C# – F#-G#
I know it’s Your love, it’s written on my heart
A#m – D#m-G#  C# – F#-G#
And there is not a flood that can quench this love
C# – F#-G#  C# – F#-G#
I know it’s Your love, it’s stronger than the grave
A#m – D#m-G#  C# – F#-G#
And death could never take me from this love

F# G#
Death nor life nor angels nor powers, present things nor things in the future
F# G#
Height nor depth nor any created thing Could separate me from Your love

C# – F#-G#  C# – F#-G#
It’s Your strong love, Your strong love; it’s Your strong love, Your strong love
A#m – D#m-G#  C# – F#-G#
It’s Your strong love, Your strong love; it’s Your strong love, Your strong love

2 responses to “Jon Thurlow – Strong Love

  1. Craig Stapleton

    What chord positions do you fret the C#, F#, G#, A#m, & D#m ?? I need to learn this song for our praise team and I’m baffled.
    Thanks in advance!
    Craig

  2. I’m not exactly sure what you’re looking for, but I use a capo on the first fret, and then I just play the chords as if without the #. Hope that helps. 🙂

Leave a Reply

