If you lead worship, check out this podcast

I have always enjoyed worship.  In many ways, this is my favorite part of a church service, and sometimes I honestly wouldn’t mind skipping everything else in the meeting in favor of taking more time to sing, dance, pray, and express our love to God.  While the Bible-reading part of me knows people need instruction and discipleship, not just experiencing the presence of God, I have personally left just about every church meeting going, “Man, I think we could’ve sung that chorus at least one more time.”

While I have always loved worship, at least since becoming a Christian, I have never really enjoyed leading worship.  I’m just a mediocre guitar-player at best and rely more on consistent practice and simple music than on actual ability, and I have difficulty singing most songs (unless maybe it happens to be a cover of this version of Celine Dion‘s “My Heart Will Go On“).  Plus, I hate being in the position of an entertainer and am not a natural encourager, two things that, like it or not, end up being a part of leading worship.

About a year ago, I moved to Romania and ended up being the only guitar-player who could make a consistent commitment to our Sunday meeting.  (Considering I’m helping to plant the church, it’s probably a good thing I could make it consistently.  LOL)  And so–like it or not, prepared or not–I’m leading worship.

To say the least, the last year and a half has been quite a learning experience, and I’m sure I’ll fill you in sometime about all I’ve learned, especially in the “what *not* to do” area.  But today, I simply want to pass on a podcast I’ve found super encouraging.

If you lead worship, check out this podcast from Worship Leader Online.  You’re sure to be encouraged just listening to one or two of them.  The tips are great and are understandable to even a mostly musically-unaware guy like myself, but what I really love is the breadth of experience represented by the hosts.  Every one of them has been leading worship for a number of years, both in small congregations where they were the only one on the team and in large churches where they had 20 others on stage, both through times when the glory and presence of God were felt strongly and in times when everything seemed to go wrong.

But what I think I like most is the spirit of joy and fun on the guys.  Their humor ministers to me so much, reminding me that leading worship isn’t about perfection or intensity but about loving Jesus and helping others to do so, too.

Plus, they’re from Australia and speak with an awesome accent.  ‘Nuff said.

Anyhow, if you’re leading worship or would like to some day, make sure you check out their podcast.  You’ll be glad you did.  (And, while you’re at it, go ahead and download some other resources from them.  I haven’t personally checked them out yet, but even if they sucked, I’d be happy considering the cost a donation to the ministry of the podcast.  It has sure encouraged me lately.)

Leave a Reply

