Sweet! The stains are gone!

vapoorizeDecent pants are expensive in Romania. I have a few pairs of blue jeans in various conditions, but I don’t have many pants I can wear for work at the school (i.e. not jeans). Two days ago, I found two of my pairs of pants got these big blue ink stains on them somehow. I quickly grabbed some soap and started scrubbing, but there was absolutely no change; the stain didn’t even smear.

Finally, I “prayed” something like, “Well, God, this sucks. I don’t have any money to buy more pants. I’ll get over it; they’re only pants, but still… You made the Israelites’ clothes last for 40 yeras, so you can make my clothes last, too. And they weren’t even trying to be faithful to you; I haven’t been perfect, but at least I’m headed in the right direction.”

And then I stuck them in a bucket of water, no soap, and thought to myself, “Maybe they just need to soak for a while… Maybe God will do something. And if not, I guess I’ll just have a couple pairs of shorts.”

When I left, I was thinking through who might want the pants, but the list was pretty short, ’cause I (surprise, surprise) don’t know anyone who would want two pairs of light brown pants, each with a big blue stain. I had some things to do around town and forgot all about my great loss. I returned home just in time to clean the house before the prayer and worship meeting started. In the process, I saw the bucket, and I remembered the pants.

I pulled one pair out.

No stain.

The light was dim, so I held the pants closer to the window to check again. Still, no stain.

I checked the second pair. No stain.

I still have a hard time believing it, but both pairs of pants are now dry and folded, placed in my closet… completely stain free.

It’s a good reminder of the power of God in Jesus to clean our hearts from any and all stains, even the most stubborn ones. We can be clean, truly clean, with no guilty conscience, no dirty heart, and it can be ours simply through surrendering to Jesus as King.

Ephesians 5:27 – “He did this to present her to Himself as a glorious church without a spot or wrinkle or any other blemish. Instead, she will be holy and without fault.”

Hebrews 10:21-22 – “And since we have a great High Priest who rules over God’s
house, let us go right into the presence of God with sincere hearts fully trusting Him. For our guilty consciences have been sprinkled with Christ’s blood to make us clean, and our bodies have been washed with pure water.”

Leave a Reply

